The Fate of Webs of Fate – Waiting for Reader Reviews

Many of you may have noticed requests for reviewers for my upcoming novel, Webs of Fate. The response has been phenomenal. My thanks go out to all of you who have joined our team. We now have reviewers across the US and Canada, even some out of the country who are reviewing the PDF file. They include Gibraltar, England, Australia, and Paris.  The Advanced Readers Copies have been shipped to the reviewers that have already come aboard, and now I wait to see how this novel will be received.

Patience may be a virtue, but  is often nerve wracking. While I am not pacing a worn paths in the carpet or experiencing sleepless nights, like most of us I have a certain degree of insecurity. The fact that Webs of Power and Twisted Webs have been winners of the Indie National Excellence Awards and finalists in the USA National Best Books and Twisted Webs was recently named winner of the 2011 International Book Award for fiction and literature was thrilling, but it has raised the bar since I strive to make each novel better than the one before. The big question is have I met that goal?

I have yet to meet an author, even a famous one, who did not admit to occasional bouts of insecurity.  It is human nature to be concerned with how others view us, and let’s face it; our work is a part of us. It is our heart, our soul, our very being which we pour out onto paper and then parade out for others to assess. As authors it is our job to drop the filters and write from the heart; to give our readers a glimpse into the inner workings of our minds and imaginations. Few other jobs have this requirement. And yet as authors, we ask for reviews, knowing we must reach our intended reader. For non-fiction the contentmust fill the needs of the intended readers. In the case of novels, the key element is story. Have we reached our readers? Have we touched their hearts? Have we kept them turning the pages? And most of all have we provided entertainment?

No matter how good we think our work may be, it can always be better. There is a small, lingering doubt that maybe; just maybe it is not good enough. When Webs of Power won its first award, I was pleasantly surprised–most award winning books I have found to be somewhat dark–mine are not.. When I put Twisted Webs out for reviews, I worried that it wouldn’t live up to Webs of Power.  Now it’s time to see if my reviewers feel that Webs of Fate lives up to standard set by the previous novels in the series. It is now in the hands of the reviewers, and I hope that it fares well. In the meantime, I will continue work on Unpredictable Webs and continue to take my daily walk on the beach and enjoy the company of my wonderful husband, Jack. Yet in the back of my mind, Webs of Fate and its fate will be ever-present.

 

How do you deal with the waiting game while waiting for feedback on your work?

8 responses to “The Fate of Webs of Fate – Waiting for Reader Reviews

  1. Please do not worry, because your new book is awesome!
    Brenda Minor
    Tucson, AZ

  2. Interesting glimpse into another writer’s psyche . . . looks kinda like mine.

  3. Having sold insurance policies for most of my working life, I am accustomed to rejection. Just like Ricky Nelson sang in the song Garden Party, “Ya can’t please everybody, so ya’ got to please yourself”. Personally, I write just like I dance….(no one is watching). I have told my editor, I am glad I am not trying to feed a family on what I make with my writings. He laughs, which is the intended response. Patience is a virtue; it comes with age and boy and I getting old.

  4. rhondasedwards

    I too am waiting for reviews of The Secret of Atalaya. My nerves are stretched and I try not to think too much on its status in the hands of others. Insecurity must be a quality shared by many of us when under scrutiny.

    • Good luck to you Rhonda. I’m sure you will be very happy with your reviews. I suggest trying to relax and work on something else to take your mind off of it. Let me know if I can help – every little bit of sympathy from a friend counts, right?

  5. Hi Darlene:

    I can certainly identify with the butterflies you are experiencing. As a ‘newbie’ soon to e-publish my sequel to Back From Chaos: Book One of Earth’s Pendulum I still await the kind of response you are enjoying for your earlier efforts. It i
    s comforting, in a way, to see that even accomplished novelists such as yourself still look for validation that their offering is appealing to their intended audience. Good luck. Yvonne

Leave a Reply

